2013 Transpac Yacht Race
Prince Quentin and Prince David Kawananakoa of Hawaii presented to Matt Brooks, Captain of the yacht DORADE the King Kalakaua Cup Trophy at the Transpacific Yacht Race Ceremony at the Modern Honolulu ballroom on Thursday, July 25, 2013.

Etched on the King Kalakaua Trophy:
“King Kalakaua was the last Hawaiian king – 1874 to 1891. He had this Cup made in China for the purpose of promoting a Transpacific yacht race. His hopes were never realized.

After his death the Cup came into the possession of one of his chamberlains, and at the time of the 1923 race was owned by the chamberlain’s son, Archie Robertson, who donated it for the 1923 race, and was won by the Spindrift, Eugene Overton, Skipper. In 1954 this Cup was presented to the Transpacific Yacht Cup by Vice Commodore and Mrs. Eugene Overton as a perpetual trophy for the Transpacific Race.”


  • New York Yacht Club Annual Regatta
    • Around-the-Island Race – 3rd Place in Classics Class
  • Camden Classic Regatta – 1st Place
  • Eggemoggin Reach Regatta
    • 1st Place – Vintage Yachts – Division B
    • 1st Place – Corrected Time
    • 1st Place – Plank on Frame
  • Castine Classic Yacht Race – 3rd Place
  • Marblehead Corinthian Classic Yacht Regatta
    • Historical Yachting Achievement Award
    • Classic Wood Division – 2nd Place
    • Panerai – Vintage Corinthian Yachts – 1st Place
    • Panerai Watch – Classic Yachts Challenge – Overall Winner
  • Opera House Cup Regatta
    • OHC Cruising Division – 3rd Place
    • Vintage Corinthian – 3rd Place
  • 2016 Sail Nantucket Regatta
    • Vintage Corinthian Yacht – 3rd Place
  • Newport Classic Yacht Regatta
    • 2nd Place – Classic Non-Spinnaker Class
  • Panerai North American Classic Yacht Challenge
    • 2nd Place – Vintage Corinthian Yachts – Overall Winner

  • 2015 Fastnet Race
    • 2nd IRC Class
    •  7th Overall
    • Winner of:
      – The Sparkman & Stephens Trophy
      – Coates Scholfield Throphy
      – Iolaire Block
  • 2015 Transatlantic Race
    • Second place in IRC Class 4
    • Second place in Classics
    • Second place with Carina for New York Yacht Club Two-Boat IRC Team
    • Seventh place for New York Yacht Club Trophy (IRC Overall)
From left: Ben Galloway, Mike Giles, Pam Rorke Levy, Matt Brooks, Shaun Pammenter and Nick Bellico

From left: Ben Galloway, Mike Giles, Pam Rorke Levy, Matt Brooks, Shaun Pammenter and Nick Bellico


  • 2015 Transatlantic Coastal Race
    • Third place in IRC Class 4
    • First place in Classics
    • Fifth place in IRC Overall

Regales Royales de Cannes
1st in Class

Coupe D’Automne Du Yacht Club De France (Cannes-St Tropez feeder race)
3rd in Class

Les Voiles de St Tropez
1st in Class

“Daughters of Dorade Series”
Of the 15 races which comprised the “Daughters of Dorade Series”, Dorade was 1st in 13 races and 3rd in 2 races. The Series consisted of:
– Corsica Classic Regatta
– Regales Royales de Cannes
– Coupe D’Automne Du Yacht Club De France (Cannes-St Tropez feeder race)
– Les Voiles de St Tropez

Corsica Classic Regatta
Winner – Corsica Classic Cup
Recipient – Napoleonic Eagle

Newport, RI to Bermuda
1st in Class – IRC – Class 2
2nd in Class – ORR – Class 2
2nd Place – Around the Island Race – Class 10

Antigua Classics (Women Team)
4th Place – Vintage Class A

BVI Spring Regatta
2nd, Racing CSA Div – Round Tortola Race
1st, Racing Div – Caribbean Insurers Island Invitational
3rd, Racing Div – BVI Spring Regatta

RORC Caribbean 600
First in Class


2013 Transpacific Race
Transpacific Yacht Club

  • 1st Overall Corrected Finish
  • King Kalakaua and Governor of Hawaii Perpetual Trophy
  • 1st Overall Corrected Finish (Division VIII)
  • Eugene Overton Perpetual Trophy
  • Mark Rudiger Traditional Navigation Perpetual Trophy
  • Sextant and Celestial Navigation (Matt Wachowicz)
  • Chuck Ullman Perpetual Trophy
  • Overall First Corrected Time Navigator Trophy (Matt Wachowicz)
  • Winthrop Johnson Navigator’s Perpetual Trophy
  • First Corrected Time Navigator Trophy (Division VIII)
  • Transpacific Yacht Club Perpetual Trophy – First Split Rig

Newport Beach to Cabo San Lucas, Newport Harbor Yacht Club
1st Place – PHRF Class

2013 Transpac, Dorade

Transpac 2013

4th Annual NHYC / SDYC Islands Race
27th Place


2012 Named Flagship of Sparkman and Stephens

St Maarten Heineken Regatta, St Maarten
1st Place – Classic Class
Flagship of the St Maarten Heineken Regatta

Heineken Regatta 2012

Heineken Regatta 2012

Les Voiles de St-Barth, St Barths
1st Place – Classic Class

Antigua Classic Yacht Regatta
Winner – Concours d’ Elegance – Overall Winner
Winner – Concours d’ Elegance – Vintage Class
1st Place – Antigua Classic Yacht Regatta – Vintage Class

Newport Bermuda Race
Winner – American Businessman’s Trophy – Royal Bermuda Yacht Club
2nd Place – Class 4 – Anniversary Regatta – Royal Bermuda Yacht Club

New York Yacht Club Annual Regatta – Around-the-Island Race
2nd Place – Classic Class

San Francisco Leukemia Cup, San Francisco Yacht Club
1st Place – Top Fundraiser
1st Place – Classic Class


2011 Opera House Cup
Winner – (Nantucket Community Sailing)
Robert H. Tiedeman Memorial Award (Most Authentic Yacht)

2011 Opera House Cup

2011 Opera House Cup

Sail of Pride Regatta
3rd Place – Division 6

2010 Sail of Hope Regatta
1st Place – Classic Division

1999 Argentario Sailing Week in Porto Santo Stefano
2nd Place – Vintage Marconi Class

1997 Won races in Juan-les-Pins, Porto Stofano, Palma, Porto Cervo and Cannes.

1953 Transpac Race
7th Place – Class B, 18th overall

1948 Swiftsure Race
1st Place – Class AA

1947 Swiftsure Race
1st Place – Class AA

1939 Transpac Race
4th Place – Class B, 9th overall

1936 Transpac Race
Took Line honors
1st Place – Class B
1st Place – Overall

San Francisco – Farrolone Race
1st Place

1934 Bermuda Race
5th Place – Class A

1933 Fastnet Race
Race Winner

Oslo to Hanko Match Race vs. “Jolie Brise”
Race Winner

1932 Bermuda Race
1st Place – Class B

NYYC Annual Cruise-Run from Glen Cove to Morris Cove
10th Place – Special Cruising Class

Morris Cove to New London
6th Place

Newport to Mattapoisett
2nd Place

Mattapoisett to Newport
Race Winner

1931 Transatlantic Race
Won the race in decisive fashion. From July 4th, sailed from Brenton’s Reef and swept the field of 10 boats and arrived at Plymouth’s Ram Island on July 21st, on a 16 days 55 minutes crossing which is 2 days ahead boat to boat and on corrected time her margin of victory was 4 days.

Fastnet Race
Race Winner

1930 Bermuda Race
2nd Place – Class B, 3rd overall; First all-ametuer crew

Fall Rendezvous
Cruising Club of America – First in Fleet

Cowes Round-The-Island Race
2nd Place

Cowes Cruising Class
2nd Place